The Thing About Helping

I have been pondering the issue of helping as of late. Helping myself, my kids and others. How much is too much? How little is too little. How much time do I have to devote to helping? As a friend, a parent, a neighbor and a human being how much of a choice to I have when it comes to helping?

I love to help. I love to be there and make someone else’s life easier. Why? Do I like it because it makes me feel good? Yes, I suppose I do. Do I like it because it makes others feel good? Yes, I know that is a big part of it. Do I like it because it is something I know I should do? I don’t think so. I have a hard time doing things just because it is something I am supposed to do. I really have to believe in it to “own it”.

Modeling helping others is something that I have tried to do for my kids. I feel it is really important to look outside yourself, see the needs of others and do something about it. Volunteering in some capacity is a requirement for my kids. I don’t care how you volunteer or where but you must do it while you are in high school.

The reason I have been thinking about this so much is I really want to do more to help a family I know right now. The problem is, I have ideas but I don’t have the resources to pull it off. I am trying to figure out how to mobilize people and keep the expense to a minimum for us all. I may need help figuring it out. Asking for help is something I am not good at. Kinda hypocritical? Yep. I am working on it. Stay tuned….

About PB and Jazz

mom of three and a dog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

