What kind of change would you like to be?

I read a Gandhi quote a month or so ago and it has stuck with me. “Be the change you want to be in the world.”

The book I was reading said that often times people want to change the world before they themselves change and that it rarely works. The change I am seeking to be and model to my children is to not be judgmental and to believe the best in people. I am not always successful. That is the change I am aspiring to be currently. Hopefully my change will trickle down to those who I am in relationship with and it will trickle out further and affect real change. What change are you aspiring to be?red picnic table

About PB and Jazz

mom of three and a dog
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What kind of change would you like to be?

  1. Avasmommy says:

    I have that quote plastered on my fridge at home. I heard it years ago and it stuck with me, too. Having kids makes you think about yourself in ways you never did before. I’m trying to make myself a better person, for me and for her.

  2. Vixen says:

    I started thinking about what change I would want to have, but I was so inspired by your idea to be less judgemental, but more importantly to go back to my usual way of believing the best of people that I want to steal your idea and run with it.

    Keep up the good work. You are inspiring.

  3. Jaded Perspective says:

    I would like for people to see in me that we all have great strength within ourselves. When hard /painful times fall upon us, be strong. It’s ok to cry, mourn, heck even whine, but don’t give up. Just keep swimming. ~Dory (From Nemo)

  4. I like that quote and it is something worth thinking about, for sure.

  5. That to which you aspire is a truly noble and worthwhile goal. Why must people make it so damn hard to pull off?!

    There’s another Gandhi quote I like, which is perhaps tangentially related to this:

    “I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians. They are so unlike your Christ.”

    We can all do better.

Leave a Reply

